Tarot Cards: Not just some cards

A deck of Tarot Cards consists of 78 cards. The first 22 Cards together are called the Major Arcana. They have numbers from 0 to 21. The Major Arcana starts with 0: "The Fool" and ends with 21: "The World". Every Card depicts a major life theme: Positive and negative events, human characteristics, emotions and strong universal symbols (Archetypal) and symbols predicting the future.

tarot cards

The Major Arcana symbolizes all the important things of life. The Minor Arcana depicts the details of life.

Minor Arcana

The Minor Arcana consists of 56 Cards. This sequence is grouped into 4 "colour" Cards, as with normal playing cards. The 4 colours are::

  • Wands
  • Cups
  • Pentacles
  • Swords

Each colour has the cards 2 to 10. In addition, each colour has a Page, Knight, Queen, King and Ace.

tarot cards 2

Each colour has typical properties:


Connected to the element of Earth.
Represent the Material Reality.
Indicate something connected to material luck (or bad luck) and money matters.



Connected to the element of Fire.
Represent Inner Power.
Indicate something connected to work and (inner/outer) activities.



Connected to the element of Water.
Represent emotions and feelings.
Indicate something connected to the feeling of happiness and abundant sensitivity.



Connected to the element of Air.
Represent Thought.
Indicate something about (inner) struggle.